Spotlight Saturday- Bridget Miller

Today, I thought I would change things up a bit. I am going to write about my favorite lifting partner, girl personal trainer (I had to emphasize girl because of course my hubby is my favorite guy trainer ;)) and a girl who inspires me to stay strong and be proud of lifting ๐Ÿ˜‰

I thought this would also be a good follow up to Emma writing about motivation. What motivates you? Inspires you? Sometimes having someone to look up to or seeing someone who says I did it, is all people need to keeping pushing themselves to maintain a healthy lifestyle or make continuous changes to being healthy and fit.

This is my girl Bridget! Shes smoking right?!

Here’s the part that will make you really say wow…

Yup! Those are both her. She made a lifestyle change and stuck to it ๐Ÿ™‚ SO CAN YOU

It’s not dieting people its lifestyle changing, its something you want to maintain and keep up with. I cant express that enough.

When I first started going to the gym I didn’t know how to lift weights, I thought I had to run run run to stay skinny. I WAS WRONG! I am in the best shape of my life thanks to lifting weights. It DOES NOT make you bulky.

There are even health benefits to lifting weights…here are just a few…

1. Boston University School of Medicine Scientists performed a study using a โ€œpush-upโ€ gene in a mouse to examine how strength building affects metabolism and other physiological systems. The scientists concluded that weightlifting helps to โ€œregress obesity and resolve metabolic disorders.โ€

(read the full article at http://www.forbes.com/sites/juliewilcox/2012/05/31/health-benefits-weightlifting/)

2. Having more muscle increases your metabolism therefore burning more fat.

3. It decreases resting heart rate. The less the heart needs to work the better!

5. You burn tons of calories

6. And you just look so damn good ๐Ÿ˜‰

I know as a woman and for many people trying to lose weight, checking the scale constantly can become a very bad habit. Before I started lifting weights I was always on the scale, obsessing over if I lost or gained a pound. While, it is okay to check your weight…the truth is our weight fluctuates all the time and MUSCLE weighs more then fat.

You can see for yourself that Bridget looks good, really damn good but if you had to put a number on her you would probably never guess 138, weight that is… would you? But, she is and its just proof that numbers are well…just numbers ๐Ÿ˜‰

If she can shed that much weight and keep it off so can you. Looking for a trainer in the Kalamazoo area contact Bridget @ bridget.e.miller@wmich.edu. She can answer any questions you have or if interested in doing a bikini show shoot her an email, she does all her own training!

~S

gym brat ๐Ÿ˜‰

ย 

ย 

20140719-141147-51107834.jpg

20140719-141236-51156921.jpg

Leave a comment